Names and jurisdictions of administrative operation “dong” and the number of dong office chiefs

In the mobile environment, you can move from side to side and see the contents (Table).

Dong as specified in law Number of Dong Office Chiefs Administrative Operation Dong
Dong as specified in lawNumber of Dong Office ChiefsAdministrative Operation Dong
Geoje-dong 4 Geoje 1-dong, Geoje 2-dong, Geoje 3-dong, Geoje 4-dong
Yeonsan-dong 8 Yeonsan 1-dong, Yeonsan 2-dong, Yeonsan 3-dong, Yeonsan 4-dong,
Yeonsan 5-dong, Yeonsan 6-dong, Yeonsan 7-dong, Yeonsan 8-dong,
Yeonsan 9-dong


Geoje-dong got the name of Geoje-ri by combining geo of Geopyeong-ri and je ofDaeje-ri in 1914 during the Period of Japanese Occupation. The name “Geoje” originated from Geobeol-ri, which means a large field. It was called Geoje-ri, which means the village with a large dam preventing the flood of Geoje Stream. It became Geoje-dong in administrative reorganization.


Yeonsan-dong is laid out in and around Baesan. Long time ago, it was a low swamp and had a lot of water lilies. Moving towards Baesan, Hwangryeongsan is a mountainous area. Ancient records state is that they named it Yeonsan after the series of mountains or Geumryeonsan. However, Yeonsan-dong has changed and developed tremendously so folks cannot even find the traces of the old times.